Day 1 of Deathline routine testing!

This is my first day of the Deathline routine!

Anatomy studies from photos. Wanted to do about 10 speedy gestures with rough values blocked in but ended up spending all the time on just 2! Oops!
20120828-003154.jpg

A self portrait at 09:00, indirect sunlight, blue green walls make for a pretty low chroma, cool palette with subtle warms in areas where blood vessels are closest to the skins surface. I was trying to be mindful of James Gurneys description of the colour zones of the face too and adapting that to the lighting situation! Fun fun!
20120828-003211.jpg

Another Maul update!
20120828-003505.jpg

Started a Sargent master copy today and discovered Wikipaintings! Such an easily accessible and reliable resource for pretty decent digital reproductions of paintings! So I work with the Sargent’s painting alongside mine but at no point do I pick colour from the painting. It’s about studying and trying to work out everything Sargent was good at and hopefully take a piece of Sargent with me to my own work. Focusing mostly on gesture and colour palette right now. Doing this really kicks your ass to get proportions right, composition etc as well as being more exacting with colour choices etc. hopefully I can have this finished by the end of this week!

20120828-003632.jpg

This is a Deathline for anyone that doesn’t know and wants to. My goals are simply to produce a fresh portfolio within 7 or 8 months from now and then see if I’m ready for freelance or studio work. I’m pretty limited with job choices because I live in Hong Kong and want to stay here for another couple of years with my girlfriend who has begun her career path in the lingerie industry now. My choices are a handful of studios, some animation, some android/iOS game studios too that will hire foreign workers. If that doesn’t happen I’ll be going for part-time English teaching, some big international schools here can pay enough so I can eat, drink and pay rent while also being eligible for a visa still, for 3 days a week and then I’ll have 4 days and evenings to study or find freelance work and improve my portfolio that way. Whatever happens I’m going to get to a point where I can get studio work or bigger freelance jobs, it’s just a matter of how fast I can find my feet and produce work to a professional standard. That’s kind of motivating. Anyway I’ve had fun today, it wasn’t the smoothest first day on the schedule test but it was way better than any other day I’ve had painting just because I kept switching it up with the next study area or project.

Too much talking I know, it was a big day for me but I’m ready for the next day. I probably had about 12 productive hours out of the proposed 16, missed the photo studies so I’ll make sure I get them in tomorrow. Some environments with figures and/or vehicles I think. Had a few distractions around my apartment today. Shouldn’t have that tomorrow, although I may have to go and build a new pc tomorrow if my Mac crashes photoshop again!

Leave a Reply

